Honorary Members and Medalists


Aino Sibelius (1965)
Otto Andersson (1969)
Fabian Dahlström (2005)
Tuomas Haapanen (2005)
Olavi Luokomaa (2005)
Esko Häkli (2009)
Lauri Tarasti (2016



Since 1965 the Sibelius Society has awarded the Sibelius Medal, designed by renown sculptress, Eila Hiltunen, who also created the Sibelius monument. The first medal was given to Dr. Urho Kekkonen, President of the Republic of Finland, the second one to Mrs. Aino Sibelius, and the third to maestro Herbert von Karajan.

The medal is awarded both to individuals and organisations for their outstanding achievements as performers or  supporters of Sibelius' music.

During recent years, the following have received the medal:

conductor Sir Simon Rattle
docent Kari Kilpeläinen
museum director Hilkka Helminen
conductor Paavo Järvi
managing director Juha Kurkinen
journalist Vesa Sirén
conductor, Licentiate of Music Pekka Helasvuo
pianist Kikuo Watanabe
researcher Markku Hartikainen

2014 pianist Folke Gräsbeck

2011 opera singer Tom Krause

2010 chairman Andrew Barnett (UK)

2009 the Sibelius Society of Järvenpää

2008 the Sibelius Society of Hämeenlinna

opera singer Jorma Hynninen
opera singer Soile Isokoski
managing director Reijo Kiilunen
chief conductor Jukka-Pekka Saraste

2006 pianist Izumi Tateno

chief conductor Osmo Vänskä
chief conductor Esa-Pekka Salonen
chief conductor Leif Segerstam


All medalists (pdf)